Our Favorite Things: Sheet Music and Garages

Hers.

We haven’t shown our latest house cravings lately so we thought we’d catch you up on things that have been catching our eye lately.

As a recovering piano player (7 years under my belt, the last 3 of which were not by choice), I’m always looking for ways to reuse sheet music that’s just taking up space in our house.  Thinking back on the hours I slaved away on the piano bench plunking out another rendition of “Ode to Joy,” I especially like the ideas that involve shredding the sheets (sorry Mom and Dad).

My inspiration:

CW from top left: My Girlish Whims, Style Me Pretty, Pinterest, RoseFlower48, Funky Junk Interiors, Miss Mustard Seed, Sara’s Perfect Party

Want to tackle your own sheet music project?  Try these DIY ideas:

CW from top left: Miss Mustard Seed, The Country Chic Cottage, Copy Craft, The Country Chic Cottage, A Diamond in the Stuff, My Shabby Chateau, Lost in Creativity

Want to leave the crafting to someone else?  Sure, let’s go shopping!

CW from top left: House of 3, Riri Creations, Carolina Cottage, Okiob Designs 

His.

For the past year, my life has been consumed by home renovations. While I (usually) enjoy working on the house, my true passion is cars. I’ve been working on cars with my dad since I was old enough to hand him a wrench; the man taught me everything I know about being handy, including how not to organize your garage. My parent’s garage looks like a scene from Hoarders, and you can’t even get to the mower without enlisting the help of a backhoe to clear a few tons of junk first. I even heard a rumor that there’s a car in there somewhere.

Anyway, I vowed that my cars would always be garaged, and that I’d always be able to safely navigate the garage without climbing gear. I love the minimalist look of German race shops (which consist of cars, tool cabinets, and absolutely no dirt), but I also own bicycles, lawn equipment, and a few million gallons of paint. My desire to design a clean yet functional garage turned into a minor obsession with what I like to call “Garage-Mahals”, i.e. garages that are actually small showrooms attached to a house. My personal favorite combination is a clean, open space with no tools/equipment visible, interlaced with vintage automotive memorabilia.

Here’s a few over-the-top examples:

CW from top left: Toad Hall, Jalopnik, Frank’s Classic Cars, Garage Themes, Garage Design Source

4 Comments

Filed under Favorite Things

4 responses to “Our Favorite Things: Sheet Music and Garages

  1. Mom

    Should I charge you for the piano lessons now or later since they are helping you with home ideas – not a waste at all! Cute comments and Chris’ garage is exactly how I would want mine to be – organized!

  2. Hello this is kinda of off topic but I was wondering if blogs
    use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • DO or DIY

      We actually use WordPress so no coding needed but our blog design isn’t too advanced so this works for us. Good luck on your own blogging adventure!

      -Julie

  3. Really nice cars you have in the garage! Are they Porsche, isn’t?

Leave a Reply

