Canton Oh Canton!

Hers.

Sunburnt, exhausted, deliriously happy.  That pretty much sums up my post-Canton feelings.  Chris and I traveled to the bustling town of Canton, TX (a whopping population of 5,000) this weekend to check out First Monday Trade Days.  I’ve been wanting to head down there for over a year but always seemed to have something scheduled for the one weekend the event occurs every month.  Finally, Texas spring ends, the 100-degree weather starts, and one of our weekends finally clears up.  I decided not to mention to Chris that a majority of the event was non-air conditioned and outside… oops.

The heat kept the crowds away, which was nice, but, boy, was it hot.  I’ve been told by everyone and their mothers (especially their mothers) what great deals and unique items you can find at First Monday.  I wasn’t let down.  Not only was it fantastic people watching, but I stumbled upon the greatest finds.  The long drive and sweltering heat was so worth it (no matter what Chris says).  I am now, however, at the mercy of Chris’ continuous banter of “you owe me’s.”

His.

This was the most miserable experience of my life.

If you’ve ever been to a swap meet, you know what Canton is like. The difference is that instead of old car parts, people are hocking “antiques”… or at least stuff that’s manufactured to look antique. I suppose I should clarify by saying that there are two distinct areas in Canton: 1) the true antique booths, which is where you’ll find these fabled “good deals” if you have a few hours on your hands and can muscle your way past the white trash and 2) the retailers, which is more like a disposable shopping mall filled with overpriced junk (complete with groups of weirdos that wore matching t-shirts to commemorate the event). And guess where Julie wanted to shop.

There’s not actually enough bandwidth on the internet for me to explain exactly how much I hated this sojourn, so I’ll simply say that despite the less-than-ideal weather conditions (Julie claims she “didn’t realize” it would be so hot, nevermind she’s spent the last 23 Junes in Texas), I consider this trip to have been a success for two reasons. First, we actually did get some decent junk, including an old milk pail from a gentleman claiming to have eaten dog (see above swap meet reference) and second, I finally got Julie to shut up about going.

P.S. If I hear the phrase “shabby-chic” one more time, I going to punch someone.

Check out some of our loot!  More pics to come as soon as we figure out where to put everything!

       

I love this flower pot made from an old aluminum bucket.  This would be an easy, inexpensive DIY project.  The vendor selling these simply spray painted the lettering onto the bucket and added chains to turn the bucket into a hanging flower pot.  As I type this, I can’t help but laugh remembering the vendor recount the tale of eating German Shepherd at a fine dining establishment in China.  In case you’ve ever wondered what dog tastes like… apparently it tastes like alligator but not as tough.  Noted.

I found this rickety, old, wooden stool and immediately fell in love.  It wasn’t until we got home and placed the stool in the entry of our bedroom did we notice just how rickety… and crooked… this old stool was.  It doesn’t get shabbier than this but, hey, it still works as filler for a space I wasn’t sure what to do with.

If you don’t already know my affinity for letters, you soon will.  They’re scattered all over our house.  Chris jokes that if strangers came into our house not knowing our names, they soon would after taking a look around.  I even managed to pilfer one from Chris’ parents’ house (thanks Mrs. Weber!).  As I walked into this one adorable shop called The Gypsy Pearl, I knew I had met my Canton soulmate… a set of black block letters.  It look awhile to locate a J, C, and W but once I did, I knew it was fate.  They look great on our new stool!

I stumbled upon this mirror in a stack in the corner of someone’s booth.  Although I have an insane number of mirrors sitting in rooms waiting for a home, I knew I had to add this one to my collection- I mean, it’s white, distressed, and sheer perfection.  It could work in a variety of rooms.  Now, I’m just stuck with the dilemma of which room will be the lucky home for this treasure.  It may live a nomadic life for the next few weeks until I figure it out.

11 Comments

Filed under Deals & Finds

11 responses to “Canton Oh Canton!

  1. Erica

    I looovveeee the mirror! good find!

    • doordiy

      Thanks! They had one in black, red, and white. I thought Chris’ eyes were going to roll out of his head as I stood there debating which one was calling to me more. 🙂

  2. Aunt Aileen

    I love your Canton treasures! You did awesome on your first Canton trip. The next time I go, I will let you know.

  3. Oh boy, that sounds like my kinda fun!!!! I’m a Southern girl, so I’m used to the heat. Anything for steals and one of a kind finds. Loved how you did a “his & hers” perspective. Very cute!

    • DO or DIY

      Agreed Melissa! The heat can’t keep me away from a good antique market! Now, if only my husband thought the same!

  4. Pingback: The Magic of Round Top: Part One | DO or DIY

  5. Rebecca

    Next time you roll into Canton, you have to come and see me! I’m Rebecca’s Ranch in Trade Center 3. Fun clothes and jewelry! Gypsy Pearl, Pam is my Canton gossip buddy.

    • DO or DIY

      Will do. Speaking of, I need to start convincing Chris that we need to head back to Canton soon! Thanks for stopping, Rebecca!

      -Julie

  6. Cindy

    I have just moved to Texas, I have made it to McKinney for trade days but not Canton yet. My daughter won’t go with me so I will have to go on my own, no way would I be able to convince my husband to go.

    • DO or DIY

      It was certainly a battle and he has now sworn off every going again (we’ll see about that). You will love Canton though! Or, for the ultimate antique/flea market, try venturing to Round Top for their twice-yearly show. It’s home decor paradise!

      -Julie

Leave a Reply

